Reviews

Below are direct links to my reviews

Compact cameras

Panasonic Lumix LX3 | Samsung WB1000 / TL320 | Ricoh GR Digital III | Nikon P310

Canon S90 IS | Canon SD 780 IS | Sigma DP2s

DSLR cameras

Nikon D90 | Nikon D700 | Nikon D3000 | Nikon D5000 | Nikon D600

Olympus E-620 |  Pentax k-x | Canon 40D | Canon 7D

Mirrorless cameras

Panasonic GF1 | Olympus E-P2 | Panasonic G2 | Olympus E-PL5

Lenses

Books

Bags

Lighting

Accessories

Related Post:

{ 11 comments… read them below or add one }

dusty November 25, 2009 at 12:48 am

Canon BG-E5 Battery Grip for Canon XSi
this link is broke goes to a lens review

admin November 25, 2009 at 12:55 am

thanks, fixed

Divya December 30, 2009 at 4:21 pm

Hi I want to buy a digital camera…I have the following options,please suggest which is the best price as well as quality wise.
Nikon Coolpix S570
Sony Cyber-shot DSC-W290
Olympus µ-7010

Sean Nerida January 1, 2010 at 7:23 am

thanks for your reviews , they are really helpful.

I want to start using DSLR since i love taking pictures and have this passion with pictures but i’m kinda stuck with the features of camera… could you help me a bit…

i want a DSLR that has video capture capabilities and is good for beginners like me… could you recommend me one… Im checking on D500 or Cannon brands but i’m confused on what is better especially when it comes using other lenses…

thanks alot.. Your site is very informative.

Happy New year.

-Sean

Enche Tjin January 1, 2010 at 7:35 am

@Divya: Sorry I need more time to research since I haven’t got a chance to look on those cameras.
@Sean: Canon 500D will be a good starting point for you, easy to use, and video recording feature is better than most competitors.

Entry Level February 14, 2010 at 3:02 pm

Hi.. I’ve been visiting your site for quite sometime… and im really thankful for your reviews. im deciding to buy my first dslr camera. i’ve been with compact point and shoot cameras and i think it’s time to try my hand with dslr. my only problem is i dont know what to buy. i’m stuck with so many questions.
i’m choosing between nikon or canon. (doesn’t really matter cause both of them are really good as i’ve read/heard)

as for the cameras im stuck with choosing if id go for canon 1000d/450d/500d or nikon d3000/d5000/d60

i’m a beginner and i dont know which to choose. price is a good start and i know that if i could save more i might use those for quality lenses which are good in the long run. as for the specs of the cameras i’m not really sure what to choose. i think their capabilities are almost the same and as i’ve read that for entry level photographers they wont even notice them but if i begin reading reviews and spec they are indeed different then the prices changes drastically for each camera.

could you give me some advice. i definitely need them. badly.. thanks..

Enche Tjin February 14, 2010 at 11:52 pm

Generally, I will suggest Canon beginner cameras because the features, full lens compatibility (60+ EOS lenses) and layout interface. I recommend 1000D if you are in budget and don’t care about video recording. Get the newest 550D if you want to do movies.

You’re right that investing on lenses will be better because camera technology is changing very fast.

Roberto August 2, 2010 at 5:52 pm

I want to to buy a Canon for my son, he i 18 and he is starting with the photography. I would really apprecite if you could recomend me between the EOS REBEL XTi 10,1 and the XSI12,2. Also if the diference with the t1i is to big and he as a beginer will notice it.
Thanks a lot.
Roberto

Enche Tjin August 2, 2010 at 9:41 pm

Hi Roberto, I recommend Canon EOS XSi over XTi and T1i.

XSi has advantages on better processor performance, spot metering, bigger LCD screen (2.5″ vs 3″) and slightly better ergonomic.

T1i has video recording and higher res LCD screen over XSi.

I don’t think it is necessary to get T1i over XSi because its improvement is not significant. I hope this is helpful :)

enzo December 22, 2010 at 9:01 am

Hi, I just published a photography book and I would like to send you a copy to review. Please email me :)

Thank you!

Thomas Mckee July 28, 2011 at 4:15 am

You seem to have stopped doing video reviews. Why is that so? I kind of like them. Do you plan on doing some any time soon?

Leave a Comment

{ 1 trackback }